Parish Council

The Role of a Councillor

They are elected to represent the interest of the local community as a whole and promote a harmonious local environment. The number of elected Councillors depends on the size of the area, Flitcham are able to have 7 Councillors.

Local Councils are the first tier of governance and are the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue. They are democratically elected local authorities and exist in England, Wales and Scotland. The term ‘Local Council’ is synonymous with ‘ Parish Council, ‘Town Council’ and ‘Community Council’.

Local Councils are made up of locally elected Councillors. They are legally obliged to hold at least four meetings a year.  Most meet on a monthly cycle to discuss council business and hear from local residents. However, Flitcham is considered a small council and only meet bi monthly. District and County Councillors regularly attend parish meetings and report at the Annual Parish meeting. Councillors are expected to attend meetings on a regular basis.​

Councillors must abide by a Code of Conduct, a set of rules on how Councillors are expected to behave. They must also declare their financial interests in the parish, details of which are kept by the District Council.

Following the recent elections, Flitcham PC now have only 4 councillors.  We therefore have vacancies for 3 more councillors who could be co-opted.  A move to try and encourage more councillors is to be undertaken urgently.  The role of councillor within Flitcham is not onerous, we only meet bi monthly, therefore 6 meetings per year, held at the Flitcham Community Centre.  We would encourage anyone that might be considering becoming a councillor to please do get in touch and we will gladly give more information.

Flitcham Parish councillors are as follows:

Susan Allen – Chairman

Richard Gray – Vice Chairman

Ann Beasley

Terry Allen


Parish Clerk – Gill Welham

Meeting Dates 2024

Parish Employers Liability Certificate

Parish Public Liability Certificate

Emergency Procedure

Policies and Statements

Code of Conduct

Standing orders July 2022

Internal Controls

Duties of RFO

Financial Regulations

Privacy Policy

Accessibility Statement

ICO Certificate of Registration

Cookies For Comments Image